Main content start

Math Department Announces 2024 Pólya and Osserman Awards

Clockwise from top left: Pranav Nuti, Haoya Li, Andrew Lin, and Nikhil Pandit

Stanford Mathematics is pleased to announce the 2024 recipients of the Pólya Teaching Fellow Award (Haoya Li and Pranav Nuti) and the Robert Osserman Teaching Award (Andrew Lin, Nikhil Pandit and Hannah Prausnitz-Weinbaum).

The Pólya Teaching Fellow Award is named in honor of George Pólya, Professor of Mathematics at Stanford from 1940 to 1953. This award honors at least one graduating PhD student each year for their outstanding teaching during their time in the program. 

The Robert Osserman Teaching Award is named in honor of Robert Osserman, Professor of Mathematics at Stanford from 1955 to 1990, and honors PhD students for outstanding contributions as a TA. 

The Pólya Teaching Fellow and Robert Osserman Teaching Awards consists of a $500 prize and certificate presented at the Mathematics Commencement ceremony, on Sunday, June 18, 2024.