Announcement of 2021 Commencement Awards

Sloan Hall

Stanford Math Department Location

The Math Department is pleased to announce the following awards which were presented at the department ceremony in June. 

Undergraduate Research Award

This award recognizes outstanding honors theses from our graduating seniors. 

Amy Kanne has been awarded the Undergraduate Research Award.

Amy Kanne’s thesis was advised by Dr. Mary Wootters and is titled, “The Locality of Wedge-Lifted Codes.”

Matthew Christiaan King has been awarded the Undergraduate Research Award.

Matthew Christiaan King’s thesis was advised by Dr. Kannan Soundararajan and is titled, “Zeros of Fekete Polynomials.”

Firestone Medal Award

This award recognizes the top ten percent of all honors theses in social science, science, and engineering from the graduating seniors from across Stanford University. 

Jabari Hastings has been awarded the Firestone Medal for Excellence in Undergraduate Research.

Jabari Hasting’s thesis was advised by Dr. Jan Vondrák and is titled, “Positive Correlation in Matroids.”

Mathematics Distinguished Service Award

This award was established to recognize students who, through their service, have made outstanding contributions to the department, their fellow students, and the University as a whole.

Annie S. Chen

Yuzhou Zou

Robert Osserman Teaching Award

This award recognizes at least one PhD student for outstanding contributions as a teaching assistant. This year we have three recipients.

Derek Khu

Naomi Kraushar

Slava Naprienko

Pólya Teaching Fellow Award

This award recognizes at least one graduating PhD student for their outstanding teaching during their time in the program. This year we have two recipients.

Sarah Isabel McConnell

Dat Nguyen

Centennial Teaching Assistant Award

This Award recognizes and rewards outstanding teaching assistants in the Schools of Humanities and Sciences, Earth Sciences, and Engineering. This award highlights Stanford’s commitment to teaching as demonstrated by our many talented and devoted teaching assistants.

Dylan Cant

Sophie Libkind

Jonathan Richard Love


Congratulations to all our award recipients!