Size / / /
Stanford Mathematics Undergraduates, William Kuszamaul and Ethan Sussman, selected as 2018 Hertz Foundation Fellows
          Congratulations to Stanford math majors, William Kuszamaul and Ethan Sussman, for being selected as 2018 Hertz Foundation Fellows.  Kuszamaul is a double major in Mathematics and Computer Science, and Sussman is a double major in Mathematics and Physics. Kuszamaul and Sussman are two of only three undergraduates in this year’s class of ten Hertz Fellows. The fellowship will provide support for a full five years in the pursuit of a PhD  in the applied physical, biological and engineering sciences.

Professor Tadashi Tokieda to give a Public Lecture at the ICM 2018
Professor Tadashi Tokieda has been invited to present a Public Lecture at the upcoming International Congress of Mathematics (ICM), to be held in Rio Janeiro in August, 2018. The other four Public Lecture Speakers at the ICM 2018 are, Etienne Ghys ( Lyon, France), Ingrid Daubechies ( Duke University, USA), Cédric Villani​ ( France), Rogério Martins (Lisbon, Portugal). Professor Tokieda will also be participating in the ICM 2018 panel on “New Avenues for Raising Public Awareness of Mathematics.” To learn more about ICM 2018 in Rio de Janeiro, including information on Public Lectures and Invited panels, visit the website.

Stanford Mathematics students awarded the Goldwater Scholarship
Congratulations to Math majors Nitya Mani and Nina Zubrilina who have been awarded the 2018 Goldwater scholarship, which is designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. The 2018 Goldwater Scholars were selected based on academic merit from a field of 1,280 natural sciences, mathematics, and engineering students nominated by the campus representatives from over 2,000 colleges and universities nationwide.

Stanford Mathematics senior wins Churchill Scholarship
Stanford senior Anna Thomas, a mathematics major (and computer science minor), has been awarded a Churchill Scholarship. The Churchill Scholarship provides funding to American students for one year of master’s study in science, mathematics and engineering at the University of Cambridge in England. Anna Thomas is one of the 15 students from across the United States that were awarded the Churchill Scholarship this year. Please see the Stanford Report article, written by Kathleen J.

We are delighted to announce an $800,000 gift pledge from distinguished engineers and entrepreneurs Dr. Rouzbeh Yassini-Fard and Anousheh Ansari to establish an endowed graduate fellowship in honor of our late colleague, Professor of Mathematics Maryam Mirzakhani (1977-2017). The Maryam Mirzakhani Graduate Fellowship will support graduate students in the Department of Mathematics at Stanford, helping us attract and foster the next generation of leaders in mathematics.

Stanford University Department of Mathematics
SU Home Maps & Directions Search Stanford Terms of Use Copyright Complaints
© Stanford University, Stanford, California 94305