Size / / /

Below are university and departmental awards our majors have won.


Deans’ Award for Academic Achievement

The Deans’ Award is given each year to between 5 and 10 undergraduates for academic endeavors that might not otherwise be celebrated.   


2017: Huy Tuan Pham

2014: Lynnelle Ye

2012: Seok Hyeong Lee

2011: Elina Robeva


Kennedy Honors Thesis Prize

The Kennedy Prize is awarded to the top Firestone/Golden medalist from humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and applied sciences/engineering.


2018: Huy Pham

2015: Michael Lindsey

2014: Lynnelle Ye

2010:  Yakov Mordechai Shlapentokh-Rothman


Firestone Medal

The Firestone Award recognizes the top ten percent of all honors theses in social science, science, and engineering from the graduating seniors from across the University.


2018: Huy Pham

2017: Zi Yang Kang

2016: Gyujin Oh

2015: Michael Lindsey

2014: Lynnelle Ye

2013: Seth Shelley-Abrahamson

2012: Rafi Witten

2011: Connor Mooney

2010: Yakov Mordechai Shlapentokh-Rothman


Undergraduate Research Awards     

This department award is given to the top honors theses, along with a $250 prize and a certificate presented at the department’s diploma ceremony on Commencement Sunday.


2018: Luis Kumanduri, Ethan Sussman

2017: Andreea Georgescu

2016: Ying Hong Tham

2015: Vishal Arul

2014: Bryan Hooi, John Ryan

2013: Emmanuel Tsukerman, Joseph Victor

2012: Charlotte Chan, Brian Lewis, Ted Westling

2011: Jonah Brown-Cohen, Christos Mantoulidis, Elina Robeva

2010: Otis Chodosh, Jack Christopher Gorham, Philip Vuong


Phi Beta Kappa     

Phi Beta Kappa is a nationwide society honoring students for the excellence and breadth of their undergraduate scholarly accomplishments. 


2018: Charles Killebrew, William Kuszmaul, Raj Raina, Mason Rogers, Ethan Sussman, Anna Thomas, Misha Wilcockson

2017: Le Cheng Fan, S. Luna Frank-Fischer, Andreea Georgescu, John Morkos, Peter Ruhm, Geng Zhao

2016: UJ Brawley, Caroline Ellison, Jason Hirshman, Joseph Shayani,

2015: Jordan Bryan, Eun Soo Lee, Shawn Tuteja,

2014: Ian Ball, Pu Charernwattanagul, Ravi Fernando, Chuan Yu Foo, Daniel Hollingshead, David Jia, Akhil Vohra

2013: Rachel Hovde

2012: Thomas Frederick Davids, Charles H. Huyi, Brian Lewis

2011: Marcello Herreshoff, Sarita Bunsupha, Daniel Crichton, Jonathan Kuo

2010: Yo-Yo Shuang Chen, Jack Christopher Gorham, Samuel Justin Stone


Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence recognizes the top 10% of graduating seniors who have demonstrated a commitment to the university through involvement, leadership, and extraordinary Stanford spirit.


2013: Moor Xu


Sterling Award

The J. E. Wallace Sterling Award for Scholastic Achievement is one of Stanford’s most selective academic awards since its inception in 2006.  It is based on overall academic performance and is presented to the top 25 students of each year’s graduating senior class in the School of Humanities and Sciences. 


2012: Pak Hin Lee, Laney Kuenzel, Byungwoo Kang

2011: Elina Robeva, Ben Stetler, Sarita Bunsupha


Stanford University Department of Mathematics
SU Home Maps & Directions Search Stanford Terms of Use Copyright Complaints
© Stanford University, Stanford, California 94305 | nps