Size / / /

Teaching Awards

Pólya Teaching Fellow Award

Named in honor of George Pólya, Professor of Mathematics at Stanford from 1940 to 1953, this award honors one graduating PhD student each year for his or her outstanding teaching during his or her time in the program. The Pólya Teaching Fellow Award consists of a $500 prize and certificate presented at the department’s diploma ceremony on Commencement Sunday.


2017: Graham White
2016: Sara Kalisnik Verovsek
2015: Saran Ahuja
2014: Fernando Xuancheng Shao
2013: Kenji Kozai
2012: David Sher
2011: Olena Bormashenko
2010: Yu-jong Tzeng
2009: Kirsten Wickelgren
2008: Michael Eichmair

Centennial Teaching Assistant Awards

Initiated in 1989, this program recognizes and rewards outstanding teaching by teaching assistants in the Schools of Humanities and Sciences, Earth Sciences, and Engineering.  The Centennial Teaching Assistant Awards consist of $500 prizes and certificates presented in a June awards ceremony, presided over by the Deans of the three schools, to TAs with outstanding records as teaching assistants.

The Math Department nominates three students for this award in odd-numbered years.


2017: Christos Mantoulidis, Sarah Peluse, and Lisa Sauermann
2015: Chris Henderson, Jesse Madnick, and Evita Nestoridi
2013: Daniel Jerison, Jeremy Leach, and Cary Malkiewich
2011: Henry Adams, David Sher, and Anca Vacarescu
2009: David Ayala, Robin Koytcheff, and Eric Malm

Walter J. Gores Awards

The Gores Award is the University’s highest award for excellence in teaching. The Walter J. Gores Awards recognize undergraduate and graduate teaching excellence. As the University’s highest award for teaching, the Gores Award celebrates achievement in educational activities that include lecturing, tutoring, advising, and discussion leading. 

2015: Otis Chodosh
2001: Joshua Sabloff
1991: Ami Elizabeth Radunskaya
1976: Christopher Canellos


ARCS: Achievement Rewards for College Scientists

The Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Scholar Fellowship recognizes outstanding students in the natural sciences and engineering who demonstrate the potential to make significant contributions to the scientific and technological strength of the nation.

Current ARCS Fellow:
2015 and 2016: Daren Cheng

Past ARCS Fellows:
2013 and 2014: Daniel Litt
2012: Jonathan Campbell
2011: David Sher

Enhancing Diversity in Graduate Education (EDGE) Fellows

The Enhancing Diversity in Graduate Education (EDGE) Fellowship Program supports the recruitment and academic success of outstanding doctoral students who have the potential to enhance the diversity, broadly defined, of their academic fields and disciplines. EDGE-STEM focuses on students in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Past EDGE-STEM Fellows:
2015: Calista Bernard, Sheela Devadas, Abigail Ward, Evangelie Zachos
2014: Sarah Peluse
2013: Inbar Klang

Stanford University Department of Mathematics
SU Home Maps & Directions Search Stanford Terms of Use Copyright Complaints
© Stanford University, Stanford, California 94305 | nps