Size / / /
Faculty Awards

Professors Emmanuel Candès and Kannan Soundararajan as well as Consulting Professor David Hoffman have been named 2018 Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS). Candès was named for his contributions to the field of compressed sensing, and to multiscale analysis, statistics, and matrix completion; Soundararajan for contributions to analytic number theory and Hoffman for contributions to differential geometry, particularly minimal surface theory, and for pioneering the use of computer graphics as an aid to research.

Photo of Emmanuel Candès with Stanford arcade in background
Professor Emmanuel Candès has been named one of the 2017 fellows of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation. The fellowships, often referred to as “genius grants,” recognize individuals who show “exceptional originality in and dedication to their creative pursuits”. The MacArthur Fellows Program is intended to encourage people of “outstanding talent to pursue their own creative, intellectual, and professional inclinations”, with “no strings attached”.  

Photo of Akshay Venkatesh
Professor Akshay Venkatesh has been awarded the 2017 Ostrowski Prize. The prize, established in 1989, is awarded every other year to a mathematician or to a group of scientists who have produced the best result in the field of pure mathematics or in the foundations of numerical mathematics. According to the citation, Professor Venkatesh received the award “for his groundbreaking work in number theory, the theory of automorphic forms and representation theory, homogeneous dynamics, and arithmetic geometry.” It goes on to say that “Venkatesh is notable for his originality and his ability to synthesize between different fields, bringing conceptually new tools to bear against long-standing problems with striking consequences.

Photo of Emmanuel Candès with Stanford arcade in background
Professor Emmanuel Candès will receive the 2017 Ralph E. Kleinman Prize from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) during their Annual Meeting in July. Established in 1998, the Kleinman Prize is awarded every two years to one individual for outstanding research—or other contributions—that bridge the gap between mathematics and applications. To learn more about the Kleinman prize or SIAM please visit their website.

Professor Maryam Mirzakhani is among eleven Stanford faculty members who have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), whose members include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists and civic, business, and philanthropic leaders. In addition to her latest recognition, Professor Mirzakhani was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in May, 2016 and received the Fields Medal (considered the highest honor in Mathematics) in August, 2014.

Stanford University Department of Mathematics
SU Home Maps & Directions Search Stanford Terms of Use Copyright Complaints
© Stanford University, Stanford, California 94305 | nps