Size / / /
Faculty Awards
Professor Richard Taylor appointed to a Distinguished Professorship
Stanford Mathematics Professor Richard Taylor was appointed as the new Barbara Kimball Browning Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences. An endowed chair is the highest honor the university can bestow upon a faculty member. Professor Taylor recently joined the Mathematics Department in July 2018. He is a leader in the field of number theory, specifically Galois representations, automorphic forms, and Shimura variations. Professor Taylor and his collaborators have been instrumental in developing powerful new techniques for use in solving longstanding problems in the discipline.

Professor George Papanicolaou named winner of 2019 Lagrange Prize
  The International Council for Industrial & Applied Mathematics (ICIAM) has awarded Stanford Mathematics Professor George Papanicolaou the 2019 Lagrange Prize. According the ICIAM website, the Lagrange Prize “was established to provide international recognition to individual mathematicians who have made an exceptional contribution to applied mathematics throughout their careers.”  The 2019 prizes will be presented at the next ICIAM Congress in Valencia, Spain from July 15-19, 2019.

Photo of Akshay Venkatesh
    Stanford Mathematics Professor Akshay Venkatesh has been awarded the 2018 Fields Medal. The Fields Medal is one of the highest honors in mathematics, awarded every four years to 2-4 mathematicians under 40 years of age at the International Congress of Mathematics. The award recognizes outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and the promise of future achievement. This year’s Congress took place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

    Professor Akshay Venkatesh is one of sixteen named Simons Investigators for 2018. Professor Venkatesh is one of three named in Mathematics.  The Simons Foundation describes the major focus of his work being “the topology of locally symmetric spaces, in particular on new phenomena that occur when ones leave the setting of Shimura varieties.” Professor Venktatesh joins Stanford Physics professor Xiao-Liange Qi in this year’s group of Simons Investigators.

Professors Emmanuel Candès and Kannan Soundararajan as well as Consulting Professor David Hoffman have been named 2018 Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS). Candès was named for his contributions to the field of compressed sensing, and to multiscale analysis, statistics, and matrix completion; Soundararajan for contributions to analytic number theory and Hoffman for contributions to differential geometry, particularly minimal surface theory, and for pioneering the use of computer graphics as an aid to research.

Stanford University Department of Mathematics
SU Home Maps & Directions Search Stanford Terms of Use Copyright Complaints
© Stanford University, Stanford, California 94305 | nps