Size / / /
Faculty Members Named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society

Professors Emmanuel Candès and Kannan Soundararajan as well as Consulting Professor David Hoffman have been named 2018 Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

Candès was named for his contributions to the field of compressed sensing, and to multiscale analysis, statistics, and matrix completion; Soundararajan for contributions to analytic number theory and Hoffman for contributions to differential geometry, particularly minimal surface theory, and for pioneering the use of computer graphics as an aid to research.

The Fellows of the AMS designation (started in 2012) recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. Among the goals of the program are to create an enlarged class of mathematicians recognized by their peers as distinguished because of their contributions to the profession, and to honor excellence. This year, sixty-three mathematical scientists from around the world have been named Fellows of the AMS.

AMS President Kenneth A. Ribet says “This year’s class of AMS Fellows has been selected from a large and deep pool of superb candidates. It is my pleasure and honor as AMS President to congratulate the new Fellows for their diverse contributions to the mathematical sciences and to the mathematics profession.”

For more information about the AMS fellowship, please visit their web site

Stanford University Department of Mathematics
SU Home Maps & Directions Search Stanford Terms of Use Copyright Complaints
© Stanford University, Stanford, California 94305 | nps